The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book For Kids
The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book For Kids
The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book For Kids
The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book For Kids
The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book For Kids
The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book for Kids-Books-Balzer and Bray-Yes Bebe
The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book for Kids-Books-Balzer and Bray-Yes Bebe
Books /

The People Remember: A Kwanzaa Holiday Book for Kids

By (author) Ibi Zoboi , Illustrated by Loveis Wise

9780062915641

By (author) Ibi Zoboi , Illustrated by Loveis Wise
Regular price£12.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Ibi Zoboi comes her debut picture book—a tour de force that uses the principles of Kwanzaa to talk about the history of African Americans. This lyrical, powerful tribute is sumptuously illustrated by New Yorker artist and rising star Loveis Wise. A beautiful gift for readers of all ages and for fans of Kadir Nelson’s Heart and Soul.

Available for Priority Shipping

Age Suitability: 4 years +

Dimensions: 27.9 x 25.4 x 0 cm

Book Type: Hardback

Pages: 64

Publishing Date: 20211014

Available for Priority Shipping

See our shipping pages


From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Ibi Zoboi comes her debut picture book—a tour de force that uses the principles of Kwanzaa to talk about the history of African Americans. This lyrical, powerful tribute is sumptuously illustrated by New Yorker artist and rising star Loveis Wise. A beautiful gift for readers of all ages and for fans of Kadir Nelson’s Heart and Soul. A Coretta Scott King Honor Book!

The People Remember tells the journey of African descendants in America by connecting their history to the seven principles of Kwanzaa. It begins in Africa, where people were taken from their homes and families. They spoke different languages and had different customs.

Yet they were bound and chained together and forced onto ships sailing into an unknown future. Ultimately, all these people had to learn one common language and create a culture that combined their memories of home with new traditions that enabled them to thrive in this new land.

Sumptuously illustrated, this is an important book to read as a family—a story young readers can visit over and over again to deepen their understanding of African American history in relation to their own lives and current social justice movements. By turns powerful and revealing, this is a lyrical narrative that tells the story of survival, as well as the many moments of joy, celebration, and innovation of Black people in America.

You may also like


Recently viewed