Achtung Baby: The German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children
Books /

Achtung Baby: The German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

9780349418551

By (author) Sara Zaske
Regular price£14.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Please note, this product is unavailable for Next Day Shipping, and please allow a little extra time for processing, thank you.


In the tradition of French Children Don't Throw Food and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, following the Germans' common sense approach

Not Available for Priority Shipping

Age Suitability:

Dimensions: 15.2 x 23.3 x 1.9 cm

Book Type: Paperback / softback

Pages: 256

Publishing Date: 20180102

ISBN:

Not Available for Priority Shipping

Please note this product is unavailable for Next Day Shipping, and please allow a little extra time for processing, thank you.

See our shipping pages

An entertaining, enlightening look at the art of raising self-reliant, independent children based on one Mum's experiences in Germany.

'Warm and companionable . . . I closed Achtung Baby feeling more relaxed and confident. While both my kids were up a tree.' - Helen Brown, Daily Mail

When Sara Zaske moved from Oregon to Berlin with her husband and toddler, she was surprised to discover that German parents give their children a great deal of freedom. In Berlin, kids walk to school by themselves, ride the subway alone, cut food with sharp knives and even play with fire. German parents did not share her parental fears and their children were thriving. Was she doing the opposite of what she intended, which was to raise capable children?

Through her own family's often funny experiences as well as interviews with other parents, teachers, and experts, Zaske shares the many unexpected parenting lessons she learned from living in Germany. Achtung Baby reveals that today's Germans know something that other parents don't (or have perhaps forgotten) about raising kids with 'selbstandigkeit' (self-reliance), and provides many new and practical ideas parents everywhere can use to give their own children the freedom they need to grow into responsible, independent adults.

You may also like


Recently viewed